More Than Rubies

A woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.

My God will come through…always. Always. March 14, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — katiemears @ 12:15 pm

Recently we were introduced to a new worship song by Passion’s Kristian Stanfill. The lyrics are as follows:

My foes are many, they rise against me
But I will hold my ground
I will not fear the war, I will not fear the storm
My help is on the way, my help is on the way

Oh, my God, He will not delay
My refuge and strength always
I will not fear, His promise is true
My God will come through always, always

Troubles surround me, chaos abounding
My soul will rest in You
I will not fear the war, I will not fear the storm
My help is on the way, my help is on the way

Oh, my God, He will not delay
My refuge and strength always
I will not fear, His promise is true
My God will come through always, always

I lift my eyes up, my help comes from the Lord
I lift my eyes up, my help comes from the Lord
I lift my eyes up, my help comes from the Lord
I lift my eyes up, my help comes from the Lord
From You Lord, from You Lord

Some of my most faith-testing and faith-building experiences in the last 2 years have been money-related. Who hasn’t had money woes in the last two years? Since January, 2009, I decided to go from 160 hours of work/month to 60 hours a month. We had 3 foster children, we had to put a new roof on our home, we got pregnant and, with new insurance, had to pay out of pocket costs that were astronomical. It has been scary to say the least. All of us have unexpected financial things that come at us every day. The car needs new tires, the pipes sprung a leak, the dog needs to go to the vet. Maybe they are bigger than that like a loss of job, or a catastrophe.

Although we knew this pregnancy and baby would cost us more than Michael Paul did when we had the good hospital insurance, we weren’t prepared for how much we would have to dip into our savings to cover the cost. I am, by nature, a worrier, and because I handle most of the family finances, every time an unexpected bill comes up, I worry. It’s something I am working on and I pray endlessly about. I know, beyond a shadow of a doubt, that God does not want me to work full time again. I know that our situation now (or even me working less, hopefully, one day) is His desire for our family. But it is so hard not to doubt this when the financial situation feels so hopeless during these times. This summer I had a lot of these times. Enough for Michael and I even to discuss me going back to work full time. We just have to keep telling ourselves this is what God has for us now.

Fastforward to this week. I’d been avoiding doing our taxes because I knew, due to me making less money this year and Michael’s tax situation changing, we wouldn’t be getting nearly the return we had last year. But, this week, we did do them and found out we would be getting back upwards of $5000! Wow. I still don’t know how this happened but I can say it is all God. This will put a big dent in the debt we incurred for our roof, the baby, and the money we had to remove from savings. Then, yesterday, we found out we’d be getting another unexpected gift of even more money to help with baby expenses. When Michael told me, I literally started to weep tears of joy and thankfulness. I immediately prayed, thanking God that, even in my doubt, He had once again, come through as the lyrics to the song say. He always does. He is faithful. When we are walking in His way and following the call He has on our life, He will always come through. Always.

Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this,” says the LORD Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that there will not be room enough to store it. Malachi 3:10

 

One Response to “My God will come through…always. Always.”

  1. Tammy Hornbaker Says:

    Katie,
    God called me years ago to stop working full time (70 plus hours) and to go part time. At the moment of the decision, my husband had a wonderful, well paying job, with benefits. Two weeks later, he was laid off, but I knew without a doubt that God had called me to quit my job and begin part time. Now, fast forward to today, with my own business, all due to God’s grace and provision. Money problems are my archilles heel. But God IS always faithful. I am so happy for you.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,300 other followers